The gym

I made it to the gym last night.  Definitely, the hardest part for me is getting back into the routine of going.  I’m a creature of habit, so once it becomes a habit again, I’ll be okay.  The tough part is creating the habit.

I did week three of the couch to 5K program…start with a 5 minute walk, jog for 1 1/2 minutes, walk for 1 1/2, jog for 3 minutes, walk for 3 minutes, and repeat.  I walked a little extra at the end to make it a full 1 1/2 miles.  I was mad at myself because the 3 minutes jog intervals took it out of me.  3 freakin’ minutes!!  Not long ago I was jogging for at least 1/2 mile intervals and some 1 mile.  But, the entire point of the program is to increase my endurance…guess I gotta start somewhere.

The guy I’ve been seeing just joined a great gym.  He already bikes alot, but wanted somewhere to strength train.  Maybe we can keep each other motivated even if we aren’t going to the same gym.  I hate to admit it, but I think what may motivate me, at least for a little while, is my insecurities.  I know that should not be the motivation, but it’s there.  

~ by Mary Frances on December 30, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
