Pain

I noticed slight pain in my right foot Tuesday.  It was in the arch and inside side of the foot.  I just assumed I’d stepped wrong or sat wrong (I sometimes sit with my legs and feet curled under me).  It was enough to make me notice it, but not enough to worry me.  Then I went to the gym Thursday (New Year’s Eve) to do day 2 of the couch to 5K.  As soon as I hit the treadmill, my foot reminded me that something didn’t feel quite right.  I kept going.  I finished the set, thinking that the pain would lessen once I was warmed up.  Jogging on it actually felt fine…it was walking that seemed to stretch and hurt the arch/inside.  When I stepped off the treadmill I realized that maybe I should have quit sooner, but I didn’t want to give up and quit.  I didn’t want to give myself an excuse to stop.

The pain some what subsided, but I still noticed it every once in a while.  The pain is still there today.  So, I’m left wondering if I should try to and walk/jog on it tomorrow.  It isn’t unbearable, I can walk on it, and it isn’t swollen.  I’m also left wondering…when do you stop because of pain and when do you keep working through it?  I just don’t want to stop now when I’m finally motivated.  But, I also don’t want to do actual damage I keep going when there really is something wrong.

~ by Mary Frances on January 1, 2010.

2 Responses to “Pain”

  1. Sounds like plantar fasciitis. Totally treatable – but you need to do manage it. It’sd all about the shoes – both for running and those you wear every day. I got a case of it from wearing flip flops fo a whole summer and running in improperly fitted shoes. Took 5 months to fully rec over but I am good to go – and careful now!

  2. Thanks. I’ll look into that. I think it is time for new running shoes.

Leave a Reply

 
