The gym and Biggest Loser

Last night I sort of did day 1 of week 4 of the couch to 5k program.  By sort of, I mean I didn’t do the whole thing.  😦  It’s set up so you can either run it in minutes or in miles.  I opted for the miles part and probably should have stuck to the minutes because I jog slowly (4.0 on the treadmill).  I did the warm up, jog 1/4 mile, walk 1/8, jog 1/2, walk 1/4, jog 1/4, and then I walked about 1/2 mile from there.  I simply couldn’t do another 1/2 mile jog.   For the rest of the week, I’ll do it by the minutes and hopefully get through it.  Then next week, I’ll repeat the week doing it by the miles. 

The gym was packed.  I’m assuming it’s because it’s January and everyone has made New Year resolutions.  So far, I’ve never had to wait for a treadmill at this gym but I’ve come close a few times. 

After the gym, I watched part of the Biggest Loser.  I completely forgot that a new season was starting.  This season has already hit a cord with me because several of the contestants talked about their weight getting in the way (or feeling like it had) of finding love.  I’ve never had a long term relationship partly because of the weight and partly because of the insecurities and self doubt that come with the weight.  There is a part of me that feels unworthy and not lovable.  Recently, the negative feelings have won out over the positive.  I realize that even though I’m not really an emotional eater, there are strong emotions tied to my weight.  I have to find a way to work through them, or I’ll still be insecure and depressed even if I finally lose the weight.

~ by Mary Frances on January 6, 2010.

2 Responses to “The gym and Biggest Loser”

  1. Hello….I found your blog today and I feel inspired. Keep up the progess. 2010 is going to be good for both of us. I missed the first Biggest Loser, but I will not miss it next week. Good Luck and I will be following you!!!

  2. I started Day 1 of Week 1 of Couch to 5K today. I’m going by minutes because that’s what my running partner is doing, and her logic makes sense. I’m so out of shape! I felt somewhat confident as we started out, but 15 minutes into the intervals, I pretty much wanted to die. I’ll be posting about it later tonight or tomorrow (I’m REALLY tired). Nice to meet others taking with the courage to do this program too.

Leave a Reply

 
