What do you want most

Yesterday I tracked every single thing (including the Mexican dinner I had) and used only my 27 points.  Yesterday was a stressful day, in more ways than one.  So, I came close to ordering the biggest margarita they had at dinner and diving head first into the cheese dip.  But, I didn’t.  I had one Mexican beer, about 4 chips with cheese dip, and a grilled chicken salad.

The quote on yesterday’s tracker said,

Don’t trade what you want most for what you want at the moment.

What I want most is to be healthy and happy.  Both sides of my family carry health nightmares.  Most of my mom’s family (including my mom) died from complications of diabetes.  She had a series of strokes, including one that left her paralyzed on one side.  She spent the last years of her life on dialysis because her kidneys shut down.  Heart disease runs rampant on my dad’s side (which I only discovered a few years ago).  My dad had to have bypass surgery a couple of years ago and most of his brothers and sisters (he’s one of 9) have recently had to have either a bypass or stints put in.  I may not be able to prevent diabetes and heart disease completely, but I have to stop willingly creating an invitation for them.  This time it isn’t about vanity, it’s about my health.  I have to realize that no matter how good that cookie, french fry, or whatever tastes, it could literally kill me.  I have to stop thinking that I have all the time in the world to get healthy.  The time is now. 

~ by Mary Frances on January 14, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
