Can’t You Just Eat Less?

That’s what my boss said today.  He knows I’ve been going to Advanced Weightloss Clinic.  Several people in the office have.  He’s notices at lunch that I’ve been eating less.  He commented today that he can see a difference in my face (I can’t).  Then, in a super supportive way, he said can’t you just eat less, it would save you a lot of money and you wouldn’t have to get shots every week.  Sounds simple.  I’ve been eating less lately.  He sees no reason I can’t continue.  Just focus, want it enough, and decide to just eat less.  Those who’ve never had a weight problem really do think it’s that simple.  Maybe for them it is.  For me, the answer is NO.  I can’t just eat less.  No matter how much I want to, how much I want to be healthy, how much I know I need to.  I can’t.  I don’t know why.  It’s not as simple as putting the fork down and pushing the plate away.  Stop eating when you’re full.  What a novel concept.  It’s like telling an alcoholic they can have one sip, but then have to put the glass down and push it way.  Simple right?!?  Should be easy.  It’s the hardest thing in the world. 

I’m not saying adipex is a miracle drug, but it helps make things easier.  It shuts off something in me so that I’m more in control.  The obsession and anxiety resolving around food seem to lessen.  It makes eating less feel more natural and normal.  Makes it easier.  So, for now at least, the answer is becoming yes, I can just eat less, but only with help. 

~ by Mary Frances on April 14, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
