Vacay

I’ve been away from home for what seems like forever.  Last Friday (and thru the weekend) I was in Destin, Florida.  I was home just long enough to unpack and repack, and then was off to Chicago from Wednesday til tomorrow (Sunday).  It’s all been for work (conferences), but I added a day or two to make it into a vacation.

I dread stepping on the scale Monday morning.  I hope all this traveling hasn’t packed on the pounds.  I’m worried because I have no clue what I’ll see Monday and that scares me. 

The good news is that Chicago is a great city for walking, and I’ve done a ton of it.  It dawned on me today that I never gave it a second thought whether or not to walk.  I just did.  I walked when I could have easily taken the subway or a cab.  I realized that I’m lucky to be able to go around this entire city and explore.  A few months ago, I may not have been able to…at least not without several rest stops.  I’ve walked the length of the city several times over, but I hope it’s enough to counteract the deep dish pizza and Garrett’s popcorn.   

~ by Mary Frances on May 29, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
