The Next 5k

I need to get more serious about exercise.  I have to get more consistent and make it a priority.  The past few weeks I haven’t done much. 

I signed up for another 5k on August 7th.  Hopefully it will motivate me to get on a schedule and stick to it.  It’s the Woodstock 5K.

 

woodstock 5k 

I love all things Snoopy.  The best part is that it benefits United Cerebral Palsy and Special Olympics.  My twin sister has cerebral palsy and usually participates in the local Special Olympics.  She usually wins the blue ribbon for the wheel chair race and the tennis ball throw.

I went for a walk/jog after work today.  It was HOT.  100+ degrees hot.  Crazy.  I did 2 miles.  At the 1 mile mark I was beat.  By the 1.5 mile mark I wanted to stop and was cursing that the parking lot was so far away.  Every time during the 2nd mile that I tried to jog, I felt nauseous.  I tried to talk myself into jogging more, but my body told my brain to eff off.

Emily @FrontBurner recently posted that running isn’t supposed to be easy.  It’s supposed to hurt.  Having your lungs and legs hurt lets you know that you’ve pushed yourself.  Well, despite not being able to jog much during the 2nd mile, I definitely pushed myself.  My legs didn’t hurt, but they felt like lead, my lungs burned, and my stomach churned.  No.Fun.At.All. 

Also, I HAVE to learn to pace myself.  Here are my splits

Mile 1   12:55

Mile 2   14:42

Nearly 2 minutes difference!!! The good thing is that the average pace was better than normal.  2 miles for a total of 27:37 for an average pace of 13:50.  I’m hoping that slowing down the first mile will keep me from fading/crashing/nearly dying during the second.  My goal is to do the 5k in 45 minutes.  So, if I can slow down, but keep the same pace, I should be able to do it.   

~ by Mary Frances on July 26, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
