New Focus New Plan

After declaring that I have to exercise more, I haven’t done much.  UGH!!  I’ve played tennis a couple of times, but only walked/jogged once.  My hope to get better at jogging isn’t going to happen if I only jog once a week.  Plus, as my dad always says (quoting a doctor), regular exercise will improve your health, but intense exercise once a week will give you a heart attack.

I braved the heat Monday and did 2 miles.  I’m still not good at pacing myself (again, never going to get better if I don’t do it more).  The first mile this time was a little faster than the first mile last time.  I was able to go a little faster the second mile this time, but it was still more than a minute slower than the first mile.

Distance:  2 miles

Total Time:  26:24

  • Mile 1:  12:36
  • Mile 2:  13:47

Average Pace:  13:11    

The difference is that for the first mile I was able to jog for 1/4 mile intervals (I walked for 1/8), but was only able to jog for 1/8 intervals the second mile.  I kept trying to slow myself down, but I think I wanted the jogging to be over sooner so my body moved faster.  The weird thing is that my stride felt great, I was on the balls of my feet, and my legs didn’t give out.  What gave out is my lungs and cardio condition.  Again, I need to SLOW DOWN (I know 12:36 isn’t fast for most people) and concentrate on my breathing to keep it level and steady. 

My goal for the 5K on Saturday is to finish in 45 minutes.  After it, my plan is to get back on the couch to 5k program and actually follow it.  To focus more on endurance and increasing the distance I can run at each interval rather than worry about the time.  In addition to strengthening my legs, it’s more important that I strengthen my lungs and heart.  Heart disease is in my DNA, so I have to get serious about fighting against it the best I can.

My plan is to get onto a schedule and stick to it.  To post every thing here (including how I feel physically, emotionally, and mentally) to have a record and to be held accountable.  I also have to get serious about strength training to tone, gain strength, and burn fat.

~ by Mary Frances on August 3, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
