good, bad, ugly

The good

My attempt to get off of my blood pressure meds seems to be going great.  On the days I don’t take the pill, my pressure is in the normal range (my doc wants it less than 130 and it’s been between .  On the days I do take it, my blood pressure (at least the systolic “top number”) is running low.  The diastolic “bottom number” has been steady and in the normal range which is fantastic because the reason I was put on meds was because it had gotten to 90.  Now it’s ranging from 68-78.

 

The bad

I’ve only exercised three times since the 5k.  The day after I played tennis and it was just too hot for it.  Tuesday I went for a 3 mile walk with a friend.  We walked SLOW, but the good thing is that we walked at the park with tiny, loose stones so it’s like walking in sand.  Our average pace was 16:11.  Wednesday I went for a walk/jog and did 1/8 walk, 1/8 jog, 1/8 walk, 1/4 jog, 1/4 walk, repeat for 1.5 mile.  I also went slow…which is actually a good thing because I was able to slow myself down and keep a somewhat steady pace.   

Distance:  1.5 miles      Total Time:  21:03     Average Pace:  14:03

  • Mile 1:  13:59
  • half mile: 7:03 (14:10 average)

   

The ugly

I’m in a weird place…in my mind and in sizes.  In some things I’m still in women’s sizes, but in other things I’m in regular sizes.  It’s frustrating and unsettling to not know where you fit in…which brings in the weird mental place.  I’ve been in a odd funk this week and I finally realized some of it is due to losing weight…stupid right!!!  I’m ecstatic to be losing the weight and really want to, and I’m not one of those people who is afraid of losing weight.  But, it’s unsettling and throwing me just a little.  I feel like I’m being ungrateful or looking a gift horse in the mouth.  But, this is completely unknown to me.  I’m not someone who used to be thin and is now getting back to my “real self.”  The only me I’ve ever known is the fat me.  I don’t know that I know how to be the thin(ner) me…or who that even is.

~ by Mary Frances on August 13, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
