Another 5k

This morning I did another 5k…4 Paws for a Cure.  It benefited a local animal rescue and Susan G. Komen.  I was worried when I got there, because there weren’t many people there but the ones there looked like serious runners.  I was afraid I’d come in last.  Luckily I didn’t.  Some how I set a PR!! 37:55

The course was good with just a few hills (NOTHING compared to last race).  I was worried about it because my latest “runs” haven’t been great.  The first mile usually wears me out and I’ve got nothing left for the second…and don’t want to even think about a third.  And, even the good mile has been a 13 minute mile.  I knew there was no way I was going to match my time for the last 5k.

But, the race today was so much better than I’ve been doing.  I’m not sure if it’s because I don’t push myself enough or if it’s because of the weather.  This morning was upper 70s (maybe low 80s), but I normally jog later in the day when it’s in the 90s.  Maybe the heat made more of a difference than I realized.  Of course, it’s always easier to blame the heat than blame myself 😉

The race didn’t have a chip timer, but here’s the splits according to my garmin…

  • Mile 1:  11:24
  • Mile 2:  12:38 (clearly I still have to learn to pace)
  • Mile 3:  12:52
  •       .1:  1:00

Total Miles:  3.1   Total Time:  37:55  Average Pace:  12:13

~ by Mary Frances on September 25, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
