Race for the Cure

Race for the Cure

Yesterday was Race for the Cure.  Honestly, it wasn’t fun at all.  I feel horrible about being negative about such an important race.  There were tons of people (16,000+) and different stages were set up with music blaring.  It was too loud and too congested.  I’m glad there were that many people participating, but you could barely move before and after the race without people bumping into you.

The race itself was worse.  The first mile was spent weaving in and out of people walking (strolling…not walking “with a purpose”) in groups and stretched out all over the road.  When I take walk breaks, I keep to the right, but no one was keeping to one side or the other.  People were having to get up on the sidewalks if we wanted to run.  I spent way too much energy in the first mile and was spent for the rest of the race.  There were only two water stations.  The first served lukewarm, nearly hot water.  The second had what tasted like hot, watered down powerade.  My stomach churned immediately…disgusting.  At the end of the race, they handed out bottled water.  No ice to be found anywhere.

It was hot…much more than expected.  A few days ago it was sweater weather, yesterday it reached the low 90s.  the course had small hills, so I spent the second and part of the third mile jogging down hill and walking up.  By mid-third mile I was done and just didn’t care anymore.  I basically gave up and wanted it to be over.  I hate that. 

The only good thing is that I felt better after this race than I’ve felt after the last two.  There was no recovery time needed.  But, I think it just shows that I didn’t push myself and could have done more.   My total time was 37:39, average pace 12:09.

~ by Mary Frances on October 10, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
