How to Gain 10+ lbs

Why is it so much easier to gain weight than it is to lose it?!?!  Losing is hard and takes focus, determination, will power, hard work, dedication, and lots of other stuff I’m not so good at. 

But gaining is easy.  It’s simple.  It takes very little effort.  How did I gain over 10 pounds since Thanksgiving?  By doing zero exercise and eating everything in sight.  I ate without thinking.  I ate without caring.  I ate everything that came into our office…every treat, every type of cake and cookie, any thing dipped in chocolate or loaded with sugar.  Then I ate everything at my dad’s house.  The more I ate, the easier it was to eat.  I went from barely allowing myself one cookie, to eating fists full without giving it a second thought.  It’s like I completely lost my mind, completely forgot that I was trying to lose weight, and no longer cared what or how much I ate.     

I could blame the lack of exercise on the bursitis.  I could blame it on the tons of holiday goodies sent to our office.  I could blame it on expectantly being in the hospital right before Christmas.  I could blame it on the long, boring drive home where I felt the need to munch the entire way.  But, no matter what the excuse or reason, it has to stop!

Thankfully, I can say it stopped today (instead of promising to stop it tomorrow).  But, it’s going to take a while to get back in the habit of eating right and exercising.  I just hope it doesn’t take too long to get rid of these extra pounds and start dropping even more.

I’ll post my weight on January 1st and go from there.  Hopefully it will steadily drop throughout 2011.  2011 will be my year…my year to finally get healthy and happy!!!

~ by Mary Frances on December 30, 2010.

One Response to “How to Gain 10+ lbs”

  1. I’m right there with ya! In the past 3 months a little weight has slowly but surely found its way to my thighs and belly…and it’s upsetting! But it’s just about re-focusing, and like you said, stopping today.

    Here’s to new beginnings…in just a few hours!

    Happy New Year 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
