Stuck in the house

Sunday we got some snow and lots of sleet, which led to slick roads and work being canceled yesterday and today.  Being stuck in the house made me want to snack.  Amazing what mind games we play on ourselves.  Any other day, I could have been home all day and not worried about it, but because I was “stuck,” I wanted to eat everything all day long.  Luckily, I was able to satisfy the urge to snack with tangelos and an apple…mostly.

Part of the reason for signing up for Weight Watchers was awareness.  The new PointsPlus program uses fats, carbs, protein, and fiber to calculate points.  Interesting that calories are no longer part of the equation.  After only 1 day of tracking my food, I’ve already learned that I eat A LOT of carbs.  I’m going to have to limit my favorite granola and nutrigrain bars.  I’m afraid to even look up how many points are in my used to be daily muffin.

Another thing about the new program is that just because something has 0 calories and 0 fat, that doesn’t mean it is “free” or unlimited.  Sobe lifewater has 6 grams of carbs in an 8 oz serving, which makes the entire 20 oz bottle 2 points. 

~ by Mary Frances on January 11, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
