C25K

Running season is back.  There seems to be at least one 5K every month coming up that I want to do.  This season was the beginning of my weight loss last year, and I’m hoping it will jump start my weight loss again.  I’m trying to be careful though.  My hip is still tender.  Some days just walking in heels flares it up. 

To start slowly and test things out, I’m starting back with Couch to 5K yet again.  I downloaded a C25K app on my phone, along with Pandora.  The app lets you play your own music (which was the reason for Pandora) and it interrupts the song with a little “ding” every time it’s time to switch from walking to jogging.  It starts with a warm up and ends with a cool down.  Week one is supposed to be 60 seconds of jogging and 90 seconds of walking.  I somehow mixed up the two and did 90 seconds of jogging.  I’m sad to say that a minute and a half was kinda tough.  Plus, I was running on tiny gravel, so by the end my legs felt like I was jogging through mud or slow drying concrete.  But I did it.  I didn’t worry about distance or speed.  I didn’t have to constantly check my watch.  I just listened for the “dings” and enjoyed Pandora in between. 

I’m having the same problem pacing as I did before.  My first mile was basically an entire minute faster than my second.  Right now I’m not focusing at all on speed, but I would like to balance it out and pick a pace I can maintain the entire time.

Here’s how it went:

Total Distance:  2.06 miles  Total Time:  27:24  Average Pace:  13:19

  • Mile 1:  12:49
  • Mile 2:  13:43
  •     .06:  0:51
~ by Mary Frances on March 28, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
