Stress Eating

I’ve said before that I don’t consider myself an emotional eater.  I don’t binge to suppress feelings.  But, when I’m under a lot of stress, I tend to get lax in my eating and exercise.  It’s like I only have so much emotion strength and energy, that when something else taps into that reserve, I have nothing left to focus on my eating.  Last month and this month have been so stressful for a multitude of reasons…everything from guys to work to my house’s ac blowing up in 90 degree weather.  Everything hit at once and I finally hit my breaking point. 

When I’m this stressed out, it’s easy to run through a drive thru rather than fixing something healthy.  It’s harder to turn down a cookie or extra glass of wine.  It’s easier to sleep in instead of getting up early to exercise.  It’s easier not to think about it or try so hard.  Of course, that just adds more stress after the fact and ends up setting me back several weeks.  I become my own worst enemy and sabotage myself when I need to be taking care of myself the most.

I wonder if I’ll ever get to the point where making healthy choices becomes the norm and comes naturally, or if I’ll always struggle and fight to make the right decisions.  Why does this have to be so hard?  

~ by Mary Frances on May 29, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
