Awareness

I hate journaling/tracking what I eat.  It’s tedious and reinforces my preoccupation and obsession with food.  BUT, it works.  The reason it works is because it makes me aware of what I’m eating.  It forces me to stop and think about what I’m eating. It makes me pay attention to what I’m putting into my body.  It helps me decide what’s worth it and what isn’t. Without tracking, I’d never know the amount of calories in some of the food I eat…it’s more than you think!!

Example:  This morning I wanted a croissant from Sonic.  I know it’s not great for me, but figured it can’t be that bad.  It is that bad.  I made myself look it up on myfitnesspal.  Glad I did.  Depending on which croissant I got, it was between 500 and 600 calories.  Half my calories for the day.  HALF!!!  

Instead my breakfast was 310 calories.  Smile

~ by Mary Frances on August 6, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
