All or Nothing

I tend to be an all or nothing kinda girl when it comes to weight loss.  I jump into something new all gung-ho with tons of motivation and determination.  I follow the program of the moment point by point without wavering.  Then something happens…a small stumble or bump in the road and I lose all focus.  I use that one slip up as an excuse to do (eat) whatever I want with the idea that I’ll get back on track the next day and be perfect (which is never possible).  Stupid logic.  I think it was Jillian Michaels that said something like if you have a flat tire, you don’t puncture the other three to make up for it. 

To keep from staying in this cycle of being strict, slipping up, having a free for all, beating myself up, being strict again, I’m going to stop trying to do everything at once.  I’m just setting myself up to stumble and fail.  So, I’m going to pick a few things to focus on each week. 

Here’s the focus for this coming week:

  • I’m doing The New Rules of Lifting for Women challenge on Prior Fat Girl.  So, the first goal is to follow the workout plan in it.
  • Drink at least 64 oz of water a day.
  • Track my food on myfitnesspal.  I’ll try to stay within my calorie limit, but the real focus will just be on tracking no matter what.  Even if I go over, I’ll write down every single thing I eat.
~ by Mary Frances on August 7, 2011.

One Response to “All or Nothing”

  1. HI there! This is my first visit to your blog and after reading a few posts I thought – I could have written some of them. I, too, especially have the outlook of “doing it all or nothing” – which, has been a losing battle for me! Last year I lost 50 pounds and then gained 60 – UGH. I also find that I’m only capable of blogging during the “good times” – I’m trying to find the courage to blog during the struggles, too. I’ve changed my “mantra” this time around to simply “Eat Better. Move More”. I recently wrote this on my blog:

    “This week a couple of baby steps in the right direction occured with my simple goals of Eat Better and Move More. In both of those actions the key words are Better and More. Both of which are obtainable because they don’t restrict my behavior to having to be perfect or else chalking it up to an automatic fail.”

    I’m hoping this attitude will help cure my desire to jump in “all or nothing.” For me (and probably 99.9% of the population) it’s just not possible to do it all everyday… but I’m sure you already know that!

    I’ll check in again – best wishes ~ Angie

Leave a Reply

 
